I went through my previous blog post and I realized there were a few grammatical errors/general errors so I corrected it! And I added something extra in the post (: You can go check it out!

Hm. So what happened between dog sitting and today.. I’m wrecking my brain trying to remember it because I so wanna share it with ya! Ah yes, here goes.

I visited a really cool EXhibition 2-3 weeks back. Can you figure out what it is just by looking at the word? In case you didn’t know (because I didn’t know too), there is an actual Museum of Broken Relationships and they have got ongoing travelling exhibitions so NYC was part of their tour. It was in Flatiron, not too far away from my cafe so I decided to pop by. It’s not a very big place but it’s so amazing, definitely something new!

 

​ It is a space for people to share their heartbreak stories or anything relating to their past relationships. There were items being displayed and next to it was a description of how much the item meant to the person who possessed it and why it mattered. There were wedding photobooks (really heartbreaking omg) and a lot of random stuff, stuff that doesn’t matter much to us but to certain people, there is a story behind it and how it changed someone’s lifestyle.

To some people, this is just a cigarette box to help them relief their stress or whatever they are going through, or even some other reason that made them turn to smoking. But to this person, it’s such a sweet thing for his ex girlfriend to do that. There are 7 billion people in the world and everyone has a story to tell. There were other items there too, I think I saw an iron haha. It was hard to read everything because it’s a really small space and there were quite a lot of people visiting it.

My favorite part was reading the notes/messages people left for the exes, messages that they probably never got to convey to the other party.

I found this super funny haha! Great to know that exes can be sort of “friends” too, I suppose. Or maybe they’re not friends but it’s good enough being able to hang out together lol. There were TOO MANY messages hanging, almost impossible to read them all. Some were full or rage, some were filled with sadness, there were so much emotions in just a couple of words on a piece of paper.

I could feel how much she meant it.

So anyway, I didn’t hang around for too long. On my way to the subway, I was handed this:

This definitely made me feel a little less down after reading those heartbreaking messages.

So I remember that was the day the subway system went totally nuts. In the morning, the A train apparently was delayed to the point where the subway station was flooded with people, all the way up the stairs and people were crowding around in front of the shops next to the station. And the line at the bus stop was crazy too. Well, NYC is notoriously known for it’s crappy subway system or the subway station being dirty and smelly. Never thought I’d go through this. No, how can I say that. I’m living here, bound to go through that sometime soon.​

 

​I was waiting for the E train at a different station that day. It took forever for the train to come and when it finally came, it was jam packed! Like sardine squashed. Nobody got off the train so obviously nobody could get on it. Pretty crazy huh. Didn’t have a choice but to wait for the next train and the same thing happened! Crazy packed. Argh. I was so annoyed because I was waiting for at least 30 mins and it’s so hot down at the station, there was no air circulation and the number of people just kept growing. When I finally got on it, gosh I think the girl next to me smelled so bad, not too sure whether it was her but I’m guessing it is. Didn’t have a choice of course, had to hold my breath the entire ride home T.T It took me 2 hours to get home that day when it usually takes about.. slightly more than hour. One can be real exhausted just by going on a subway journey.

Moving on, I’m really hungry right now and I’m gonna be talking about food. It’s a real torture but I’m willing to go through this. For you (: Food ain’t in order, btw.

First off, been a little obsessed with Pokebowls lately..

These two babies are from Pokeworks. I got the normal Pokebowl with brown rice and the I love choosing my own meat and toppings 😀 It’s the best $11.92 because it can keep me full til AFTER dinner. 2 meals for $11.92. It’s delicious! I tried another Pokebowl place two days ago which is located at Financial District. Can’t remember the name of the shop but I remember the ingredients ain’t as fresh as the ones at Pokeworks. Nevertheless, great try!

Siu yuk, char siew and duck

Lesson here: never get food when you’re starving because you’ll order more than you should, overeat then feel guilty for eating way too much. And it’s worse for me because I got SO SLEEPY after this meal and I actually fell asleep on the grass when I was chilling at the park. Ps. I don’t even like duck so ya see what I mean? Don’t get food when you’re starving. Or just have some self control.

Korean food

There’s a food court on 34th, the Korean Street and they have really affordable food. On average, bout $10 which is considered good for Manhattan. I don’t remember what exactly this is, probably pork. It’s making me hungry now. Something was wrong with me that week because I was craving for rice so much. Just feel like that’s the only thing that will keep me full. Mind you, I never liked rice in the past. Next up –

Falafel sandwich

Again, I was looking for something affordable and I was introduced to Maoz which is next to Union Square. I never had falafel before so having to fill my sandwich with toppings was difficult because I didn’t know how to get the sauce and veggie to reach the bottom. It got too dry after munching off half the sandwich and having all the veggie gone D: Will definitely go back for another sandwich after I learn how to get as much toppings as I can on it!

Fries from Baohaus

Tried Baohaus for it’s famous Pau with pork belly and I didn’t know that the pau is TINY. And I thought one portion came with 2 paus. Come on, 2 paus for $3.55 (or was it more than $4, can’t really remember), what was I thinking. But I finished the entire bowl of Taro fries so having 1 pau is definitely enough. Didn’t manage to get a picture of the pau because as you can see from the pic above, the lighting was really bad. I’m thinking whether I’ll actually return for the pau. Maybe when I want something light and to satisfy my pau cravings hmm.

So.. I’m done with food pictures. And I am so so hungry because I haven’t had dinner. Maybe I should grab a pastry while enjoying the latest episode of Game of Thrones..

Leave a Reply

